top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoanna Hayward

COVID19 - Sewing scrubs for NHS staff

Where to start with this post?!


COVID-19 has without a doubt had its challenges and they still aren't going away any time soon... It's been some time since my last post, and honestly, my creative spark seemed to vanish in to thin air pretty soon into lockdown.

I was very fortunate to keep my job as technician and work from home, however I found it really difficult to truly feel like I was fulfilling my role behind a computer screen. The majority of my role is student facing and dealing with screenprint related trouble-shooting issues on campus 5 days a week. It's such a physical job and all that suddenly was completely the opposite, sat on my bum most of the day answering emails, zooming, writing up risk assessment, amending handouts etc.... I started to feel quite useless.


I felt that I had to get involved with helping the NHS in any way I could. There were so many amazing people out the in desperate need on scrubs due to it being so difficult to get hold of any. PPE was scarce.. and still is. But especially scrubs during the peak of the pandemic.


I had never made a garment properly before, the closest thing I would have made was a bag during A Level but that was over 10 years ago and at first I thought theres no way I should bother, I thought it would take me so long to even make one set, and even then the quality would have been shocking. But then I was sent a link to this fantastic youtube video by STITCHLESS TV https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SavR-da-Eo .


The video is so well thought about and she shows you how to make a scrubs top even if you are a complete beginner. I would say though that you do need to know at least how to use a sewing machine though. From experience with students, it's best to have a really good practice on the machine, threading up, changing the bobbin etc, before you do any garment construction. The delivery of the stages is simplified so well and said at a pace that is appropriate for everyone. Its so great having a video that you can stop and start whenever you need to as well.


So I watched this video and then straight after I watch the continued video on how to make the scrubs pants https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oa6ZT8pP_z0 . I realised that actually if i really put my mind to it, I could do this, Tree you really inspired me to do it! and I really wanted to play a part in helping. i any way that I could. My mum works for the NHS as does my boyfriends mum and I thought that I'd love to be able to help their colleagues if they needed any, and it turned out, they really did need help.... so I thought "I'm gonna go for it".



Andrew at Bulpitt Print https://bulpittprint.com/ very kindly printed and donated the Sew Different scrubs garment pattern for me, which was so helpful and his provided me with a template for a sizes from small to extra large. Thank you so so much Andrew!



I purchased my first overlocker as I'd attempted to edge the practice garments with pinking sheers, and new that it just wasn't going to be sustainable. I needed to invest in a decent piece of equipment to get this started, plus I knew I'd use it in the future. I also knew that the fabric and materials wouldn't be cheap if i wanted to make multiples of sets, so I set up a donation page on "Gofundme" , posted it on my facebook page hoping to reach a rouogh target of £100 which would of meant that I could make 10 sets. These wonderful people had so kindly donated not just that target of £100 but it reached to an amazing £318! So thank you much much to:

Jess & Grant Hayward

Kim Hayward

Jane & Colin Brodie

Rosie Holttum

Emily Hayward

Ben Brownen

Jackie Sewhee

Usha Thankam

christina Stark

Ildar

And many of my mums colleagues at Basingstoke hospital


After quite a number of weeks and perseverance, I managed to complete 32 sets and a top thanks to these incredible donations. Most them went to the staff at Basingstoke hospital and some went to the John Radliff in Oxford.



A huge well done to everyone else who took part in helping the NHS through this ridiculous, strange, sad time we're all going through. But the biggest thank you ever from me goes to our amazing NHS and the staff that are at the heart of this pandemic and I wish I could give every one of you a big hug for the amazing work you are doing to help this country get through this. Let's hope it doesn't continue for much longer.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page