top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoanna Hayward

Out of lockdown & getting creative again

I'm back at UCA, finally! I wasn't sure when all this would end. I really have missed the studio, the students, the UCA team and mostly the surrounding creativity.


I have been asked many times if I have managed to get creative over lockdown. Even though I have participated in the essential donations of scrubs to the NHS and making online creative videos from home, it's just not the same as being in a studio with fantastic equipment, and wonderful people that inspire me every day.


Several months ago, I was told that my brother and sister-in-law are having twins, so I will be becoming an Auntie for the first time! Of course this means - baby clothes! However the baby shower comes first, and so I have been tasked with creating the sashes for my sister-in-law "Mummy to be", her mum who will be "Granny to be" and my mum "Nanny to be".


I'm now so excited that I can get back to doing what I do best - screen printing.


Over lockdown, I have been working more on the vintage floral print which I later used to print pillows for my mum on Mothers day this year. I worked on them more by developing 4 more layers of the print. These layers will be used to add colour and depth.


Lately I have also been very fond of double dyeing which will allow me to Devore out the wording on the sashes - "Mummy to be". My plans have also been to print the vintage design over the top of double dyed Silk /Viscose Satin. I absolutely love this fabric as it is sophisticated and elegant. At this time I am thinking this is a lot of work for sashes but this is such a special occasion, I must put in all the effort possible.




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page