top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoanna Hayward

Flock on fabric

Another video done for the students at UCA. This video covers basic instruction of how to apply flock onto textiles using foil adhesive and bondaweb at home, using an iron.


For those of you that aren't familiar with flock, it is that extra velvet-like effect that sits on the surface on the fabric - often found on t-shirts as an added texture effect.


This is a really easy and fun technique to try. It is usually done using a heat press, but i've found it can easily be done using an iron too, as of course most people will not have a heat press at home.


Check out the video...

The flock I used here was originally from HIVA Products but I've found that they are no longer in operation but i do know that RA Smart are now stocking it: https://www.rasmart.co.uk/small-format-shop


At UCA I was taught to buy white flock which I can then dye myself, hence why the colours change. At some point when I get back to the studio, I'll record a video of how to dye white flock.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page